The UK adds Rwanda and Burundi to its travel ban list

The United Kingdom has added Burundi and Rwanda to the country’s travel ban list.

This is a measure put in place by the UK government to prevent the spread of the South African variant of Covid-19.

The ban comes into force from 13:00 GMT on Friday (January 29, 2021).

The UK Transport Minister Grant Shapps said passengers who enter the country must show proof of a negative test and completed passenger locator form before arrival. If a passenger fails to do this, he or she could face two £500 ($684) fines.

Meanwhile, British, Irish, and third-country nationals with residence rights in the UK will be allowed to enter but must self-isolate for 10 days at home.

The Rwandan government has imposed a 15-day lockdown in the capital, Kigali to prevent a second wave of coronavirus cases. The 15-day lockdown will end next Tuesday (February 2, 2021).

The East African country has recorded over half of its total Covid-19 related deaths in January 2021. This makes January the deadliest month for the country so far.

The country also recorded one-third of its total 13,885 Covid-19 cases this month.

Meanwhile, Burundi has closed its land and water borders to control the spread of the virus.

Leave a Reply